Purple

Purple

Flower subscription MVP

Flower subscription MVP

PM, Product Design

Company Detail
Company Detail
  • oFlower(End of Service)
  • Series B
  • 42 members
  • Cold Chain E-Commerce
  • oFlower(End of Service)
  • Series B
  • 42 members
  • Cold Chain E-Commerce
Type
Type
Subscription MVP
Subscription MVP
Timeline
Timeline
Nov 2021 - Jan 2022
Nov 2021 - Jan 2022
Role
Role
  • Product Design(100%)
    • Wireframe
    • Lo-Hifi Prototype

    • Overall Design
  • Research & Data(80%)
    • Field Research
    • Mixpanel Data Analysing

  • Project Management(80%)
    • Business Strategy
    • Task/Date Managing
  • Product Design(100%)
    • Wireframe
    • Lo-Hifi Prototype

    • Overall Design
  • Research & Data(80%)
    • Field Research
    • Mixpanel Data Analysing

  • Project Management(80%)
    • Business Strategy
    • Task/Date Managing
URL
URL
oflowerblack.com(End of Service)
oflowerblack.com(End of Service)

For the new business model of oFlower, we formed a small task force to plan a subscription service that provides flowers for graves.

It was a time where I experienced the logistics flow of flower products firsthand and gained an understanding of the subscription services. It was an experience of creating something from 0 to 1, which is crucial for makers.

For the new business model of oFlower, we formed a small task force to plan a subscription service that provides flowers for graves.

It was a time where I experienced the logistics flow of flower products firsthand and gained an understanding of the subscription services. It was an experience of creating something from 0 to 1, which is crucial for makers.

For the new business model of oFlower, we formed a small task force to plan a subscription service that provides flowers for graves.

It was a time where I experienced the logistics flow of flower products firsthand and gained an understanding of the subscription services. It was an experience of creating something from 0 to 1, which is crucial for makers.
Background &
Business Idea
Background & Business Idea
Background & Business Idea

oFlower is an e-commerce platform that sells flowers to individuals, businesses, and flower shops. At the end of 2021, we aimed to create a new business model with predictable cash flow through a flower subscription service.

oFlower is an e-commerce platform that sells flowers to individuals, businesses, and flower shops. At the end of 2021, we aimed to create a new business model with predictable cash flow through a flower subscription service.
  • Although market seasonality exists, it is difficult to forecast due to many external variables.
  • Although market seasonality exists, it is difficult to forecast due to many external variables.
  • On the other hand, the subscription business model shows a predictable cash flow
  • On the other hand, the subscription business model shows a predictable cash flow

Among many candidates such as couples preparing for marriage, newlyweds, hair salons, and restaurants, we decided to offer the service to those who have completed funeral ceremonies, as well as to charnel house and cemeteries.

The reason for this decision was that field research clearly showed that this was where users' needs were most evident.

Among many candidates such as couples preparing for marriage, newlyweds, hair salons, and restaurants, we decided to offer the service to those who have completed funeral ceremonies, as well as to charnel house and cemeteries.

The reason for this decision was that field research clearly showed that this was where users' needs were most evident.
Field Research & Key Insight
Field Research & Key Insight
Potential Recurring Revenue
Potential Recurring Revenue
  • At the test location, out of 185,000 graves, traces of recent visits could be seen at approximately 60%.
  • At the test location, out of 185,000 graves, traces of recent visits could be seen at approximately 60%.
  • 185,000 * 0.6 = 111,000 (Potential customer)
  • 111,000 * 0.05 = 5,550 (Acquired 0.5% of potential customer)
  • 5,550 * $12 * 0.2 = $16,650 (MRR of $12 with a 20% profit margin)
  • 185,000 * 0.6 = 111,000 (Potential customer)
  • 111,000 * 0.05 = 5,550 (Acquired 0.5% of potential customer)
  • 5,550 * $12 * 0.2 = $16,650 (MRR of $12 with a 20% profit margin)
  • We decided this was a good business to start because there’s enough potential for improving margins, cutting costs, and gaining new customers.
  • We decided this was a good business to start because there’s enough potential for improving margins, cutting costs, and gaining new customers.
Customer Persona
Customer Persona
Based on the age of the deceased and the guestbook letters, the primary visitors were between 35 and 45 years old.
Based on the age of the deceased and the guestbook letters, the primary visitors were between 35 and 45 years old.
Needs Analysis
Needs Analysis
  • The flowers sold at nearby stores and those attached to the graves were all very same and boring in appearance.
  • There were also quite a few custom-made flowers observed.
  • Many letters and notes apologising for not being able to visit more often were found.
  • The flowers sold at nearby stores and those attached to the graves were all very same and boring in appearance.
  • There were also quite a few custom-made flowers observed.
  • Many letters and notes apologising for not being able to visit more often were found.
Additional Info
Additional Info
The charnel house provided open data on the deceased, such as grave location and time of interment.
The charnel house provided open data on the deceased, such as grave location and time of interment.
  • 60% of repurchase potential was crucial
  • 60% of repurchase potential was crucial
Goal Set
Goal Set
What we gonna make?
What we gonna make?
Monthly flower subscription service for charnel house and graves
Monthly flower subscription service for charnel house and graves
Business Hypothesis
Business Hypothesis
If we offer a service to regularly place flowers at charnel house to
customers in their 30s to 40s, they are likely to subscribe
If we offer a service to regularly place flowers at charnel house to
customers in their 30s to 40s, they are likely to subscribe
If we offer a service to regularly place flowers at charnel house to customers in their 30s to 40s, they are likely to subscribe
What business data should be observed?
What business data should be observed?
Churn Rate
(Sign in, Payment)
Churn Rate
(Sign in, Payment)
Churn Rate
(Sign in, Payment)
P-CVR
(Paid Conversion)
P-CVR
(Paid Conversion)
P-CVR
(Paid Conversion)
CAC
(Acquisition Cost)
CAC
(Acquisition Cost)
CAC
(Acquisition Cost)
VOC
(form Early Customer)
VOC
(form Early Customer)
VOC
(form Early Customer)
v.1 - User Flow
v.1 - User Flow
Unicode Range, Woff2
Unicode Range, Woff2
Highlights
Highlights
SPA, Data Scrapping
SPA, Data Scrapping

We designed the service flow using the SPA (Single Page Application) approach and maximizing the use of open data so that users can easily find the deceased with minimal input and without page transitions.

We designed the service flow using the SPA (Single Page Application) approach and maximizing the use of open data so that users can easily find the deceased with minimal input and without page transitions.
We designed the service flow using the SPA (Single Page Application) approach and maximizing the use of open data so that users can easily find the deceased with minimal input and without page transitions.
Result
Result
There was significant drop-off during sign-up(Auth) and payment. The search function was used smoothly. We decided to quickly fix the two stages that posed significant hurdles.
There was significant drop-off during sign-up(Auth) and payment. The search function was used smoothly. We decided to quickly fix the two stages that posed significant hurdles.
v.2 - User Flow
v.2 - User Flow
Relocate
Auth and Payment
Relocate Auth and Payment
Relocate Auth and Payment
We moved the sign-up process to the end. We believed that giving users a chance to explore the service first.

Additionally, after discussing with the marketing team, we decided to offer the first flower free to initial subscribers. This decision was made to help them experience the value of the service. As a result, we were able to delay the payment request.

Just by making these two improvements, users started signing up and buying. We learned through trial and error that it’s better to ask for sign-up and payment after users have fully explored the service and felt its value.
We moved the sign-up process to the end. We believed that giving users a chance to explore the service first.

Additionally, after discussing with the marketing team, we decided to offer the first flower free to initial subscribers. This decision was made to help them experience the value of the service. As a result, we were able to delay the payment request.

Just by making these two improvements, users started signing up and buying. We learned through trial and error that it’s better to ask for sign-up and payment after users have fully explored the service and felt its value.
Highlights
Highlights
Progress Bar, Auto Fill
Progress Bar, Auto Fill
By adding a progress bar at the top of the page, users can see how much more they need to complete, making the process less vague. Additionally, previous information is autofilled wherever possible, reducing the effort of entering the same information twice
By adding a progress bar at the top of the page, users can see how much more they need to complete, making the process less vague. Additionally, previous information is autofilled wherever possible, reducing the effort of entering the same information twice
Logistics Strategy
Logistics Strategy
Flowers are difficult to treat in the same way as fresh produce like fish or meat. Even with cold storage, their lifespan is only about 5 to 10 days. As the flowers near the end of their lifespan, their price drops sharply, allowing for better profit margins by utilizing flowers that are close to being discarded.

I learned all of this by personally visiting auction houses and warehouses. I made efforts to understand the logistics flow and characteristics of the industry.
Flowers are difficult to treat in the same way as fresh produce like fish or meat. Even with cold storage, their lifespan is only about 5 to 10 days. As the flowers near the end of their lifespan, their price drops sharply, allowing for better profit margins by utilizing flowers that are close to being discarded.

I learned all of this by personally visiting auction houses and warehouses. I made efforts to understand the logistics flow and characteristics of the industry.
It’s difficult to fully grasp all of this just from behind a desk.
In the end, the answers are found in the field.
It’s difficult to fully grasp all of this just from behind a desk.
In the end, the answers are found in the field.
It’s difficult to fully grasp all of this just from behind a desk.
In the end, the answers are found in the field.
Delivering
Delivering
Due to the service's theme being related to the deceased, user participation and feedback were highly engaged. It became clear that users found it difficult to leave the service, especially because of their emotional connection to the departed.

I felt a sense of pride seeing something I created being used in a way that contributes positively to society.
Due to the service's theme being related to the deceased, user participation and feedback were highly engaged. It became clear that users found it difficult to leave the service, especially because of their emotional connection to the departed.

I felt a sense of pride seeing something I created being used in a way that contributes positively to society.
Result
Result
Paid Conversion
21%
Paid Conversion
21%
Paid Conversion
21%
Cancellation Rate
6%
Cancellation Rate
6%
Cancellation Rate
6%
User Rating
90% Positive
User Rating
90% Positive
User Rating
90% Positive
Precisely targeting user needs
Precisely targeting user needs
A phone interview with all paying customers revealed that their needs aligned perfectly with our hypothesis. A small number of users who canceled responded that the product was too expensive.
A phone interview with all paying customers revealed that their needs aligned perfectly with our hypothesis. A small number of users who canceled responded that the product was too expensive.
Zero to One
Zero to One
From scratch
From scratch
Ideas came from unexpected places, like trash bins at charnel houses and empty vases in hair salons, and every part of the process was meaningful.

It was an invaluable experience to build a business from scratch, rather than improving and maintaining one that was already made by someone else.
Ideas came from unexpected places, like trash bins at charnel houses and empty vases in hair salons, and every part of the process was meaningful.

It was an invaluable experience to build a business from scratch, rather than improving and maintaining one that was already made by someone else.
  • Even by looking inside a trash bin, I gain inspiration.
  • Even by looking inside a trash bin, I gain inspiration.
  • Even by looking inside a trash bin, I gain inspiration.
Donny Kim 2025
Donny Kim 2025